1887 Letter from cousin Charley

Charles R. ‘Charley’ Bell, was the son of Thomas Thodore Bell and Harriet Dull. He was born in 1868 and died  at the age of 32 in 1901. Charley did a great deal of traveling as a train conductor and has been remembered by my family and our Bell cousins as a favored uncle who wrote regularly to his family members in Monroe. He was married to Lillian Miller in 1890 and they had three girls together; Lilian, Gertrude, Charley Mae and a son Harvey Allen.

Charles R. Bell to his cousin Georgiana Van Emburgh

Tucson, Arizona December 27, 1887 to Monroe, Louisiana

Dear Cousin

I thought I would drop you a few lines to let you know that I am well and hope thus to find the same with you all. I wrote to you sometime since but have not received an answer yet.

I send you a photo today for you and your mother also one for Aunt [Elizabeth Dul] but I forgot to put it in mas envelope and it is so far up town and it is late So I will ask you to hand it to her

X mas was dull with me as I was on the road all day but hope it was livelier with you all

give my love to your mother and William and the children and my best regards to the Old Man [Henry O’Kelly] Write Soon

Your Cousin

CR Bell

Leave a comment

Filed under Georgiana Dull Van Emburgh O'Kelly, Henry O'Kelly, Malinda Teresa Dull Van Emburgh, William Abram O'Kelly Sr.

Leave a Reply

