1882 James writes home about life on the railroad

Delta, Louisiana June 10th 1882 to Monroe, Louisiana

James George Van Emburgh to his sister Georgiana and their mother Malinda

Dear Sister and Mother,

I received your letter to day and was glad to hear you are in good health.  I am well and fat as I ever was in my life. I enjoy my self prity good for the last month the first to weeks I was down here I found it mighty lonesome but I am all right now. I wrote to you that Rufis Echels was talking about changing but I have not heard from him since you I wrote to you. I don`t know wether he is going to change or not. It don`t make much difrence with me wether we change or not. He sends me word ever now and then that he will change he may be joking if he only knows what I think about it that I don`t care wether he changes or not.

Well I will change that subject. We have not been paid of dawn here yet. Tell Mother that Mrs. Hilton will have to wait until I get my money  if she won`t do that I will send her an order on the Railroad and she can take it to Mill McGuire

I expect Mother is pretty lonesome but it can`t be helped at present. I hope it won`t be long before I will be able to come home. The water rises to or three days and then falls about the same. So it keeps just about one fith but if the river keeps falling it won`t be long before the water is gone.

How is ever body over there.  I get along so well that time pases of quick and I don`t mind it. I have a soft time over here not much work to do and plenty of fun. I will give you an envite don`t be uneasy about it there is no danger. My god I wish the water would go down or come up hight enough to drown some of the skitos you can`t have no idia how bad they are. Sam wife had just been here 2 houres when she had [page damaged] me in the ribs but I have got used to them I don`t mind them much now.

You wrote that I had shaved clean I have not.  I am just as I was when you seen me last.

It is true that I dafle around with the girls once in a while but that is nothing  ener body does that  but I have done more of it since I have been over here than I ever did before. All the young men think of is to play cards and billiards and drink whiskey and that don`t suit me at all.  I will have my shair of fun and don`t you forget it. I hope Georgie and Mothery is satisfied.

Sister how is your garden, do you have my blackberries we are having a good many over here. plenty of june apples all so. I had cucumbers for dinner to day Squashes and cabbage snap beans [page damaged] till you our boarding house is getting had it has the best the market affords but that isn`t much but it will do to live on.  I am getting fat on it. We are going to have a basket picknic out here next Friday at Tullulah.  I guess there will be plenty of fun they are fixn up for it now going[page damaged] and extra train for them. Thay will go out on the regular train and come back on an extry one that is the [page damaged] now.

Your bet I ain`t suffering for clothes  I have plenty. Tell Mother I will let her know when I need some more. I will close for this time hoping to hear from you soon. Times are dull nothing new.  So good will

I remain yours as ever

JG Vanemburgh

Leave a comment

Filed under Georgiana Dull Van Emburgh O'Kelly, James George Van Emburgh, Malinda Teresa Dull Van Emburgh

Leave a Reply

