October 1918 Abe goes to war

Dear Papa & Bootsie

New Orleans, Louisiana October 1918 to Monroe, Louisiana

Jennie O’Kelly to her father and sister

Monday
Dear Papa and Bootsie,
Your letter received. We are doing very well at Uncle Tom’s. Abe wants us to stay until he leaves which is he thinks is Friday he says the latest but they don’t know he seemed so disapointed because we talked of going home before he left that I haven’t the heart to go away and leave him. The other day we met some of the boys on the street and he tells them all I have a friend now meaning me. So I guess I will have to stay until he goes. Let me know how you all get along at home and all the news.

We are on our way out to the camps to watch them drill. Everything is very high here 15 cts for cocola & soda and ice cream is 25 cts. Such prices they certainly know how to put [?].

Abe wants an Ingersol wrist watch in a black leather case they are $7.00 here so if you can find them any cheeper at home send him one. I haven’t had the money to spare to get it. I have never has his picture taken yet as he has never bee able to get leave when the studio is open. They will be one dollar a piece. Well write me in a while.

I haven’t been very well lately think I had a chill last night – but don’t know. Feeling a whole lot better to day. Well good bye for this evening with lots of love to you both.
Jennie

Leave a comment

Filed under Jane Calderwood O'Kelly, Mary Catherine O'Kelly, William Abram O'Kelly Jr., William Abram O'Kelly Sr., WWI Letters

Leave a Reply

