February 8, 1919 I have a great Military secret to tell you

February 8, 1919 Envelope

February 8, 1919

Coblenz, Germany February 8, 1919 to Monroe, Louisiana

William Abram O’Kelly Jr. to his sister Mary Catherine O’Kelly

Dear Bootsie:

Your letter of Dec. 7th and January 8th were received yesterday I was so glad to get them as I was beginning to think you had forgotten me.

I was glad to hear that you had such a nice Christmas and received so many nice presents. Sure wish I could have been in on that good dinner you all had. I can just picture it in my mind’s eye, and my mouth waters every time I think of it. But we are not faring so badly as you may think as we are having lots to eat and the government gives us a 1/2 pound of fruit tablets a week and we can buy all the chocolate and chocolate candy we want at the Y.M.C.A. so you see we do not want for much of anything in the eats or sweets line. Some of the boys complain but lots of them are getting better than they did at home but they would like if they were in homes.

The K.C. [Knights of Columbus] has a branch in our camp. Opened up last night. I went over to their place. Got a cone of chocolate and a Cigar free. Then went over to the Y.M.C.A. and saw some good wrestling and boxing matches. So you know we are not suffering from lack of entertainment.

We are going to get paid for sure tonight as the money and pay [?] came back from the [?] office today we have been looking for it ever since the first but today was the first time we had a sure sign. There will be much joy in Camp tonight as some of the boys have not been paid since being here.

I have a great Military secret to tell you but you must tell no one. That is I believe I have the Cooties as I have felt something crawling over my back all day. I am going to look tonight and see for sure and will advise you further in the premise later on. Well they say you are not a soldier till you have them so why should I worry.

I had a nice long letter from Elizabeth dated Jan 18, this is the latest I have received also got a Christmas card from Evelyn. In fact I got more mail this week than I have any time since I have been here. Tell Evelyn that I not only answered her letter but have written her several letters but have received no reply. Tell her that I think it is the other way round.

Today was an awful pretty day and the sun is shining fine, but it is pretty cold in fact, the coldest day we have had since being here.

I am glad you and Jennie are starting out to win those prizes at 5.00 two this year already is pretty good I think . Carry on with the good work.

Well Bootsie news is scarce so will have to close for this time.
Lots of Love and kisses to all,
Your affectionate brother
Abe
Am sending you one of the 3rd Army insignias. It is worn by the Army of Occupation on the left arm 2 inches below shoulder seam.
Abe

Leave a comment

Filed under Jane Calderwood O'Kelly, Letterheads, Mary Catherine O'Kelly, William Abram O'Kelly Jr., WWI Letters

Leave a Reply

