1886 Letter from Grandma Caty

Tintype photograph of Catherine Van Emburgh Demarest.

Fair Lawn, New Jersey January  31 1886 to Monroe, Louisiana

Catherine Van Emburgh Demarest to her granddaughter Georgiana Van Emburgh O’Kelly

Dear Grandchild George Anna

I am today 74 years of age and it has pleased almighty God to let me live beyond the allotted time of Life. And I have no doubt but it will soon be turn to be called away to meet my Holy Maker. I am very well for one of my age. The rest of the family are all very well. I trust that you and your mother are also and if it lay in your power take the best care of your mother you can.

I wish you would write me a good long letter and tell me if you have ever heard anything of your father. I have not heard from him in I think it must be some were about twenty years or more. If you have any news concerning him please let me know. I presume it was a great loss for you and your mother to loose your brother. I always had a desire to meet him, but it was not to be, so I have to be contented.

Remember me kindly to your mother and your dear children and endeaver to bring them to learn and honor their parents. Sometimes children get led astray but if you indeaver to teach them correctly and then they go astray you cannot help it.

Enclosed you will find two pictures. One of myself and one of your father. Please write and let me know how you all are.

From your GrandMa
Mrs Caty Demarest

Leave a comment

Filed under Demarest and Related Families, Georgiana Dull Van Emburgh O'Kelly, Jacob Demarest Van Emburgh, James George Van Emburgh, Malinda Teresa Dull Van Emburgh

Leave a Reply

