1888 I am almost certain to be the delegate to the convention

William Abram O’Kelly to his wife Georgiana Van Emburgh O’Kelly

Monroe, Louisiana December 24, 1888 to Hotel Dieu, New Orleans, Louisiana

My Dear wife,

I got your letter of the 21st yesterday and were glad to hear of your steady improvement. We hope that you will prove of great benefit. I want to hear of your having been on Canal Street. I know you would enjoy a short trip to that noted street. I did not think you would go to Tom’s [Thomas Swan O’Kelly] for Christmas it is just as well. I am almost certain to be the delegate to the convention*, but the election does not come off till the 1st Tuesday in January. Yesterday was a beautiful day and we all went to church. If you get tired staying there and want to come home get Tom to bring you up for I think that is the only way to get him up here. Sonny [James George O’Kelly] was delighted with his picture. He sends his love to Mrs. Palmer**. He remembered her. I wish you were here darling so that I could wish you a Merry Christmas but as it is I will wish you all that is implied by the words. You know how much I love you darling. I thought too of the seven short years that we were married. God bless you darling and make you well is my prayer all day long and when I wake at night. If a man’s constant prayer is worth anything my darling wife then that prayer is for you. Keep a good cheerful face darling and we will pray God with the assistance of the Blessed Virgin and St. Joseph that all will yet be made right and that you will return to us in good health. God bless you. All join me in wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and you will not be forgotten either for something substantial we will send a small package by express.

Your loving husband

W. A. O’Kelly

* Convention of the Catholic Knights of America held in New Orleans February, 1889.

** “Mrs. Palmer” was also a patient of Hotel Dieu.

Leave a comment

Filed under Georgiana Dull Van Emburgh O'Kelly, James George O'Kelly, Letters to Hotel Dieu, Thomas Swan O'Kelly, William Abram O'Kelly Sr.

Leave a Reply

